Visibuild is cloud-based, so you'll need to be connected to the internet to access the full functionality of Visibuild.
That's not to say you're on your own when you find yourself without a connection. If you lose your connection to Visibuild while you're working on the mobile app, an icon will appear in the page you're working on.
The
icon lets you know that Visibuild is attempting to save your changes.
The
icon lets you know that Visibuild considers you offline. There will also be a banner to confirm your connection status.
Available Offline Mode on Mobile App
If you know that the location you're heading to has a weak or no internet connection, you can now pre-save the Visis you are planning to work on ahead of time, ensuring no disruption to your QA capture, mimicking your online experience to a tee!
See the snippets below for a step by step in saving your Visis for offline usage.
Once you have saved your Visi for offline use, you will receive a "Saved for offline use" success message, confirming the Visi is now available for use offline.
**Note: Saved Visis will expire if not accessed for 72 hours**
Bulk Saving Visis for Offline Use
Bulk saving Visis for offline use is also possible on the Mobile app by clicking the select button in the top-right corner of a location, select the multiple Visis you want to save, and clicking save for offline use.
Available Offline Filter
When you have no connection to the internet and are on the Visibuild Mobile App, the app automatically will apply a filter for "Available offline" instantly showing you what Visis you have pre-saved for use on site, saving you the trouble of finding them. When your connection restores, this filter will also automatically be removed.
What is available or not available offline
We've put together a non-exhaustive list of which features and functions are available when you're offline.
Mobile App | When you're offline | What should I do before |
Login | - Not available - | Log in while you're in good connection. |
Switch projects | - Not available - | Load the project you're working on while you're in good connection. The app will stay on the last project you were on. |
Navigating to Your List | Available with preloaded project | - |
Navigating to Recents | Available with preloaded project | - |
Navigating the location tree | Available with preloaded project. You can open and browse the location tree, but you cannot view any Visis that have not been previously saved for offline use. | Save any Visis you want to access offline before going on site. |
Filtering Visis on locations | Available with preloaded locations | - |
Searching Visis | - Not available - | - |
Searching locations | Available with preloaded project | - |
Scanning QR Code | Available with preloaded locations | - |
Viewing Visi details | Available with preloaded locations — only Visis that have been previously saved for offline use can be viewed. Visis not saved for offline use will not be accessible. | Save the Visi for offline use |
Viewing attachments | Available with preloaded Visi | Save the Visi for offline use including the attachments |
Mobile App | When you're offline | What should I do after |
Creating defects (ad hoc) with photos | Available. You can create defects and attach photos while offline. Everything will automatically sync back to Visibuild once your internet connection is restored. | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Creating inspections (from template) | Available — you can create a new inspection offline, but you will not be able to complete any requirements or take any further action until the inspection has synced back online. | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync the new inspection. Once synced, you can complete requirements as normal. |
Editing Visi details e.g. title, assignee, reviewer, etc. | Available with preloaded locations | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Updating Requirements, Closing a Visi, marking N/A, Can't Close, Approve and Close or Requesting Changes | Available with preloaded locations and available offline when pre-saved | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Action Visi using SPIF | Available with preloaded SPIF and available offline when pre-saved | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Uploading attachments to a location | Available | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Adding comments | Available with preloaded locations and available offline when pre-saved | Reconnect to the internet — the app will automatically sync your offline changes. Open the app and leave it running to ensure the sync completes. |
Deleting attachments | - Not available - | - |
Closing milestones | - Not available - | - |
What data is preloaded?
We preload everything that is assigned to you or your company. To ensure success when offline, assign Visis to you or your company and then refresh your app before going out on site.
Offline changes not saved
There are a few scenarios where your changes won't be saved:
Your cache data was cleared before you reopen the Visibuild mobile app.
Visibuild stores cache data for up to 30 days. If you have not reopened the app to allow offline changes to sync, your changes will not be saved.







